Saturday, 08 August 2020

Maungdaw, Arakan State: The Election Commission (EC) in Maungdaw Township began distributing polling materials today ahead of tomorrow’s national election, said an election watchdog group in Maungdaw.

According to the group, the EC is using government primary schools in the Township as voting stations.

Township EC members began distributing ballots, boxes, and other necessary items today to local EC officials in charge of polling stations, each of which are set to receive three ballot boxes: a green one for votes for the Upper House (Amyo Hluttaw), a blue one for votes for the Lower House (Pyithu Hluttaw), and a violet one for regional or state houses.

Votes can only be cast at the polling stations, which are scheduled to open for voting at 8am and close at 4pm, according to an elder in Maungdaw.

For purposes of security and monitoring, the EC has instructed three unarmed police officers or officers from Burma’s border security force (Nasaka) to be stationed at all voting areas, along with eight members
from the USDP, four members from the National Unity Party (NUP), four members from the National Democratic Party for Development, and local EC members.

Three trucks of riot police personnel with arms stationed in Maungdaw for tomorrow voting session and to take the security of township, said  a student from Maungdaw.

Most voters are expected to cast their ballots for USDP candidates because of an organized campaign of intimidation and threats, said a local businessman from Maungdaw.